Shopify is a Canadian e-commerce platform enabling (in particular) small- and mid-sized companies to build and exploit their web shop. While many e-commerce platforms are (locally) installed on the merchant’s server, Shopify is centrally installed and merchants pay a monthly subscription fee. Such an offer is called SaaS, or Software as a Service.

Businesses are moving more and more to such SaaS services. Traditional and SaaS platforms both have their (dis)advantages. Of all SaaS based e-commerce platforms, EMAKERS evaluates Shopify and Bigcommerce among the most mature for mid-sized companies.

Shopify states that it currently supports both small craft shops and big brand names. When selecting (any) e-commerce platform the most important factors to consider are its out of the box functionality, potential integrations with other systems, languages supported and ease to develop or maintain templates (the way your pages are presented) to your liking. Shopify scores well on these factors.

Additionally, when choosing for a SaaS solution, it is important to understand its reliability. Shopify is very keen on speed, up-time and security. Also, it offers a 24/7 support in case of trouble.

Shopify est une plateforme de e-commerce canadienne permettant (notamment) aux petites et moyennes entreprises de créer et d'exploiter leur boutique en ligne. Alors que de nombreuses plateformes de e-commerce sont installées (localement) sur le serveur du commerçant, Shopify est centralisé et les commerçants paient des frais d'abonnement mensuels. Ce type d'offre s'appelle le SaaS (Software as a Service).

Les entreprises optent de plus en plus pour les services SaaS. Les plateformes traditionnelles et SaaS ont chacune leurs avantages et leurs inconvénients. De toutes les plateformes de e-commerce SaaS, EMAKERS considère Shopify et Bigcommerce comme faisant partie des plus adaptées aux moyennes entreprises.

Shopify affirme soutenir à la fois de petites boutiques d'artisanat et de grandes marques. Lorsque vous choisissez une plateforme de e-commerce, les principaux éléments à prendre en compte sont ses fonctionnalités originales, ses potentielles intégrations avec d'autres systèmes, les langues disponibles et la facilité avec laquelle vous pouvez développer et entretenir les modèles (le mode de présentation de vos pages) à votre convenance. Shopify excelle dans tous ces domaines.

De plus, si vous optez pour une solution SaaS, il est important d'évaluer sa fiabilité. Shopify est très soucieux de la vitesse, de la disponibilité et de la sécurité de son système. Il offre également une assistance 24/7 en cas de défaillance.