In short: WordPress is the world’s most popular content management system (CMS), helping you create, manage and share your content on the web. WordPress has both a hosted (WordPress.com) and self-hosted (WordPress.org) version.

WordPress is open source, which means you are free to use it without paying anyone a license fee. In addition, there are hundreds of people all over the world working on it. More than most commercial platforms.

WordPress plugins

Since WordPress is the most popular CMS in the world, there is a wide variety of plug-ins and widgets to extend the system’s core functionality. The basic function of these plugins is often free – while a more complete version is paid.

Any special requirement your company may face, most probably has already been developed and commercialised as a plug-in.

WordPress themes

WordPress furthermore makes use of themes (sometimes also referred to as templates), ready-to-use designs and layouts that you can install and activate for your WordPress powered site. WordPress then functions as the main platform, handling your content (posts, pages, and so on) - while the theme displays that content into your layout of choice.

Most themes can at least be slightly adapted (colours, typography, and so on) to your needs using the WordPress customizer.

Managing your WordPress core technology, themes and plugins

WordPress and most of its – good – themes and plugins are updated regularly for obvious purposes like security and bug fixing. Also, they are improved based on users’ demands.

There are literally thousands of themes and plugins available on the market. Many of those will work just fine with each other. However, given the wide variety of these software pieces, there are always plugins that conflict with code used in other themes and plugins, causing trouble. Simply put: some plugins are withdrawn and not maintained anymore, others contain bad code, not following the WordPress standards.

It would be impossible to test every single theme and plugin with each other. Managing your WordPress core technology, themes and plugins therefore involves updating them carefully, planning to avoid malfunctions (due to conflicting technology) and testing the technology extensively to assure they really work well.

Theme packages include a changelog.txt that describes all changes for each version. It is worth reading to understand if the changes are valuable to your site. The default answer, however, is that we recommend you to stay updated.

If you haven’t made modifications to theme files, then you can overwrite your existing theme files.

If you have made modifications to your theme, you need to study the changelog to see which files need updating. You can also compare your old modified file against the updated file with a good HTML Editor or use an online tool. We suggest using child themes to save and preserve modifications. This saves you the headache of comparing files and worrying about overwriting customisations.

EMAKERS offers a service contract for WordPress from 35 euros a month.

En bref : WordPress est le système de gestion de contenu (CMS) le plus populaire au monde, il vous permet de créer, gérer et partager votre contenu sur Internet. WordPress dispose à la fois d'une version hébergée (WordPress.com) et d'une version auto-hébergée (WordPress.org).

Wordpress est open source, ce qui signifie que vous êtes libre de l'utiliser sans payer de frais de licence. De plus, des centaines de personnes travaillent dessus dans le monde entier. La plupart étant des plateformes commerciales.

Les plugins WordPress

Depuis que WordPress est le plus célèbre CMS du monde, il existe un très grand nombre de plugins et de widgets pour étendre les fonctionnalités de base du système. Les fonctions basiques de ces plugins sont souvent gratuites – alors qu'une version plus complète sera payante.

Les besoins spécifiques auxquels votre entreprise doit faire face ont sûrement déjà été développés et commercialisés comme plugins.

Les thèmes WordPress

Wordpress dispose également de thèmes (parfois appelés modèles), de designs prêts à l'emploi et de mises en page que vous pouvez installer et activer sur votre site. WordPress se comporte alors comme une plateforme principale, gérant votre contenu (publications, pages, etc.) – tandis que le thème agence votre contenu selon la mise en page de votre choix.

La plupart des thèmes peuvent être légèrement adaptés (couleurs, typographie, etc.) à vos besoins en utilisant WordPress customizer.

Gérer votre technologie, vos thèmes et plugins WordPress de base

Wordpress et la plupart de ses – bons – thèmes et plugins sont régulièrement mis à jour pour des raisons évidentes de sécurité et de correction des bugs. De plus, il sont améliorés à la demande des utilisateurs.

Il y a littéralement des centaines de thèmes et de plugins disponibles sur le marché. La plupart d'entre eux fonctionneront très bien les uns avec les autres. Mais, étant donné la diversité de ces parties de logiciel, certains plugins risquent d'entrer en conflit avec le code utilisé dans d'autres thèmes et plugins, causant ainsi des problèmes. Pour faire simple : certains plugins sont retirés ou non-entretenus, d'autres contiennent de mauvais codes qui ne respectent pas les standards de WordPress.

Il serait impossible de tester chacun des thèmes et plugins entre eux. Gérer votre technologie, vos thèmes et plugins WordPress de base, implique donc de les mettre à jour avec prudence, d'éviter les dysfonctionnements (causés par des incompatibilités technologiques) et de tester la technologie en profondeur pour s'assurer qu'elle fonctionne correctement.

Les ensembles de thème incluent un changelog.txt décrivant toutes les modifications pour chaque version. Il est conseillé de le lire pour comprendre si ces modifications sont intéressantes pour votre site. Mais de façon générale, nous vous conseillons de rester à jour.

Si vous n'avez pas modifié les fichiers thème, vous pouvez écrire par-dessus vos fichiers thèmes existants.

Si vous avez modifié votre thème, vous devez étudier le changelog pour voir quel fichier a besoin d'une mise à jour. Vous pouvez également comparer votre ancien fichier modifié au fichier mis à jour avec un bon éditeur HTML ou en utilisant un outil en ligne. Nous vous conseillons d'utiliser des thèmes enfants pour sauvegarder et conserver vos modifications. Cela vous évitera de comparer les fichiers et de vous soucier de l'écrasement de vos personnalisations.

EMAKERS offre un contrat de service pour WordPress à partir de 35 euros par mois.